Leadership & Communication: A Philosophical View

My initial thoughts on the topics of leadership and communication are really quite basic – leaders are born and communication is key. Simple enough, right? You see, for many years I have admired and revered the many people that were and presently are in leadership roles. Pastors, presidents, head corporation executives, etc. As a matter of fact, I remember an event where my behavior seemed others that I might have been asserting myself into a role [the head] because of a perspective that I had taken. Somehow, it was translated in a misconstrued manner that could have and would have played out very negatively. Quickly and humbly I addressed the matter – quite publicly I might add. In doing so I stated to my leader that in no uncertain terms would I even dream of assuming that I could do what he was doing, nor did I want to. After all, he was not the type of person that would allow you to ‘think’ or ‘act’ on your own. His imprint was the one that mattered and we all knew it. And so, I knew that my role in that environment was as a ‘follower’, and that is what I put all of my energy into doing. Therefore, how I acted, spoke, listened all were integral in how I became an effective dedicated follower.

On the other hand, deep down inside I knew that there was something being nurtured…in a gestational period – so to speak.

Conversely, after a more insightful search regarding these two important topics I further deduce that although leaders are indeed born and then fashioned throughout their lives via the various periods of nurturing, teachings and training – without proper and positive influxes of communication they will be at a loss as to how to appropriately walk in the calling of leadership.

Mary P.

One thought on “Leadership & Communication: A Philosophical View

  1. Mary – I challenge you to think about your very first statement, “leaders are born” during this class and bring it up with your colleagues.

    ~Myra

Leave a comment